New Member: Deb Costello

Gallery 9 would like to welcome new member Deb Costello.

FROM DEB
“All of my life I have always tried to express myself in many creative ways.  It began in my childhood with dance and drawing.  Over the years I have worked creatively in many mediums from oil paint on canvas, watercolors, needlepoint, even creative writing.   I have also had a lifelong appreciation of flowers and I love to grow and cultivate many types.

I  have greatly studied the life and works of Georgia O’keeffe and she has influenced my work to a great extent.   Not only because of her large floral paintings, but her style and her love of nature.   Her art made a connection with me immediately from the first time I discovered her.

In the meantime, I was constantly fascinated by anything glass.  I used to collect antique glassware and learned as much as I could about it.   But, I was especially drawn to stained glass windows and have extensively studied the works of Frank Lloyd Wright.  His style speaks to me every time I  look at one of his stained glass windows.  So, when I decided to learn how to create stained glass artwork for myself,  I was hooked.  From the very first project I felt I had finally found my creative voice.

Someone once asked me what is my favorite part of the process.   I had a hard time answering with just one thing.  I love the design process, the choosing of art glass, the cutting and scoring of glass, the construction of a piece to finally cleaning and polishing the piece and then hanging it up in a window for the first time and seeing the light come through it.

I have a third-floor attic studio in my home in S.E. Nebraska and spend many hours every day in this creative space.   I do custom pieces for clients, but I also design and create projects in which I  want to express something personally.”

See more of Deb’s work online at www.expressionsinstainedglass.com

