New Member: P.J. Peters

PJ Peters

PJ Peters (mixed-media, wood, furniture)

Artist’s Statement
“I have always loved to build things. As a child I would take multiple pieces of scrap and assemble them to make something imaginary or functional. While I have tried just about every medium in my creative life, I am drawn to mixed-media and/or wood because of the textural elements and layering. I can easily get lost in the transitions as they develop before my eyes and this has inspired and influenced my painting style.

Recently, I’ve started making things from old wood and walnut…similar to the wall-hangings and functional art/furniture included in Gallery 9’s – July Invitational. This has lead to sculpture, wall hangings, furniture, doors…and who knows what might be next.”

 

